Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

SimCity’s siren call…

Posted by thoughtful1 on April 30, 2007

… is calling out to me. But I really should catch up on my TV shows. I have a backlog.

The nice thing about getting the DVR is that I can toodle on the PC and not worry that I’m missing the first 10 minutes of Heroes because the DVR is recording it. The downside is that I have a backlog – I’m behind two eps on Gilmore Girls, and odds are by tomorrow night I’ll be three eps behind. Oh, and I’m more likely to record stuff I normally wouldn’t, like some Discovery show on cities.

So I should go with my original plan of watching TV. Except that I’m feeling that urge to play SimCity. I started a new city this weekend, and it’s going well. But, of course, I want to do MORE. But, if I do play it, then I run the risk of staying up too late. And that does me no good. It just makes me sluggish and cranky at work.

Hmm… OK, Gilmore Girls can wait. I really want to see what is happening on Heroes. I will be good and watch TV and not give in to the evil that is SimCity.

2 Responses to “SimCity’s siren call…”

  1. Heather said

    Question, out of pure scientific curiosity: do you ever lovingly build up a huge city and then set it to “alien invasion”? If not, give it a try sometime. It’s so therapeutic to watch aliens blowing up the Arcos. >:)

  2. In SimCity 3000 I would take one of the pre-made cities and mess it all up, and it was a lot of fun 🙂

    I haven’t done that with SimCity 4, mostly because I’m still building my cities. My largest is 82,000. My region total is around 170,000. I’d be able to give you better stats if the program hadn’t just blown up! Argh! At least this time I know I saved the city at a good point.

Leave a Reply

 
