Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

Asians at the office

Posted by thoughtful1 on May 25, 2007

Nearly a month ago I moved to a new cubicle at work.  Due to some personnel shuffling I am part of a new group, so I am no longer with the same people I’d been with for five years.  I am with a new crew.

Naturally, I was a little nervous.  Would I still be allowed to listen to audio streams on my headphones?  Would the new cubicle neighbors be friendly?  Would I fit in?

So far, so good.  The interesting development is that there seems to be a very loose  Asian networking type of thing going on.  By that I mean there are a few of us who were all raised here, and I began to notice yesterday that one of the reasons we get along and occasionally go out to lunch is that we’re Asian American.  It’s a new experience for me – engaging in casual social get-togethers (lunch, watercooler type chitchat)  in part because I’m Asian.  Also novel is that no one blinks any eye over the fact that I don’t speak any Asian languages.  No vibe that I’ve somehow failed the Old Country or that I’m not Asian enough.  My lack of Asianness, so to speak, is accepted matter-of-factly.

It’s a nice feeling

Leave a Reply

 
