Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

Is the plain khaki skirt dead?

Posted by thoughtful1 on June 16, 2007

For the love of God am I going to have to drive to freakin’ Freeport to buy a damn skirt?

I spent today looking for a skirt. A simple, beige skirt, like the one I bought from Eddie Bauer three years ago. A black version would have been fine, too; ditto for navy. I couldn’t find one.

I got close. Sears in Burlington had the Land’s End chino trouser skirt in black, but not in my size. *sigh*

I went to Macy’s, Lord & Taylor, Eddie Bauer, and Kohl’s. The skirts were either too casual, too formal, too fussy, or too much money. (There was a lovely Ralph Lauren floral print thing. But it was over $100. And not on sale.) At Kohl’s I noticed that skorts and long shorts outnumbered skirts. What is up with that? Why do I want to wear a ridiculously long pair of shorts? I can’t wear them to work. And the skort? Too short for work, and too many layers for hot weather.

I tried LL Bean in Burlington the other night. No dice. Their website has a few skirts that are the exact style I am looking for, but they do not have any of them in their store. And, unlike Land’s End, I need to try on the skirts first. (Well, actually, I need to do the same for Land’s End due to some recent weight gain, but Land’s End sizes have always fit me better.)

So, unless I score the Land’s End chino trouser skirt at the Sears in Saugus, it looks like I’ll be making a day trip to Freeport, ME to buy a skirt from LL Bean.

Damn annoying.

(Some of you may be wondering why I am so particular about the skirt style. First, I have that right 🙂 Second, I don’t like using a purse or pocketbook. I keep my wallet, money, and keys in my pocket. Thus, I prefer skirts with useful pockets. Third, I wear my skirts like pants – I’ll wear the same one more than once per week, but “dress up” the outfit with different shirts. It’s just easier for me that way. And I like plain skirts – I think it gives a cleaner look. The patterns I saw in the stores were too busy, too loud, not my style, and more than a few were too reminiscent of the 70’s. Eek.)

Leave a Reply

 
