Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

Sometimes it’s hard to enjoy a silly Korean soap

Posted by thoughtful1 on June 28, 2007

Last night I started watching an episode of My Lovely Samsoon.  It’s a Korean soap opera about an average looking 30 year-old who gets dumped on Christmas Eve.  She then proceeds to try to rebuild her love life while her younger, prettier, thinner sister gives her constructive criticism (because younger, prettier, thinner sisters can be annoying like that).  I had enjoyed the previous night’s episode and had begun to consider DVR-ing it.  But last night I stopped watching after 15 minutes.

Why?

Because it was showing me what I had lost when I was adopted.  When I went to Korea in 2004 I had a fun time, don’t get me wrong.  But when the plane was flying in to Incheon, I started tearing up.  I kept thinking, “This [Seoul/Korea] was supposed to be mine.  It was supposed to be my home.”  And, it is not.  Yes, I consider the US home.  But having a home doesn’t replace or make up for the one I lost.  Visiting Korea and seeing my native city just turned an abstraction into a reality.  I began to realize what I had lost.  And seeing a contemporary Korean soap opera began to depress me.  I don’t know why it happened last night – I’ve watched another contemporary Korean soap.  Maybe because the characters are in their 30’s instead of their 20’s, so I could identify with them more?  I don’t know.  I just started to feel sad.

One Response to “Sometimes it’s hard to enjoy a silly Korean soap”

  1. Hey,

    Home is where you make it, if you have a personal link to Korea that is great, If you feel the US is your home that is fine too. Don’t fee bad about how you feel it is who you are – not a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

 
