Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

My new haircut

Posted by thoughtful1 on September 23, 2007

A while back I was musing on “the Asian hair thing,” which, apparently gets this blog a lot of hits from search engines.  Strange, but true.

Anyway, last week I bit the bullet and ventured into Chinatown to get a haircut.

First thing I noticed, the extra cost was worth it – I got a free juice drink, a nice shampoo and head massage, and, as a very nice added bonus, they rinsed my hair after the first cut – no more itty bitty hair bits annoying the daylights out of me until my next shower.

As for the haircut itself… I think there was a slight communication problem, but I think it was more me not really knowing what I wanted to do, so I was babbling.  I was trying to explain I had wavy hair and what I did the last time.  I think that made it confusing for the hairdresser.  I should have just said that I have wavy hair, I would like a bob, and it’s OK to let the natural waviness show.  But I didn’t.  Instead she just did a bob, expressed surprise I had wavy hair (she didn’t see me before the shampoo), and blew me out.  Along the way she explained that I didn’t need conditioner.  Not sure how that will work once the hair gets longer, but OK… I’ll give it a try.

It was interesting watching her work.  They really do cut Asian hair differently.  For starters, she didn’t use scissors to do most of the cutting.  Instead, she used this razor thing like a knife to cut the hair.  And she may have sectioned the hair differently… That I couldn’t tell.  She didn’t use scissors until the end, when she was thinning out my hair, and no one has ever thinned out my hair before.  Finally, she was very thorough in blowing out my hair.  Instead of just taking the round brush and hairdryer and blowing, she put sections of my hair up again like she did when she cut it.  Then, she used the brush and dryer to straighten out the underlying layers.  As she finished each layer, she let down more hair.  So by the time she was done, my hair was pretty straight with it curving under at the ends.

I can’t say I was thrilled with it… Nor can I say I didn’t like it.  I just wasn’t used to it.  I think because she used a different technique my hair was laying differently, and I just wasn’t used to it.  For me, the jury was out.  But, I bumped into a friend on my way out, and he liked it.  Or, at least, he said he did… He’s a straight guy, so he might have just been saying that to be polite.  But, the female co-workers the next day really liked it, so I guess it went well 😉  And, now that it’s been several days since the cut, my hair is acting more like its old self, and I’m getting used to it.  I think it’s working out well.

It will be interesting to see how my hair acts as it grows out… If the waves come back, and how.  I think I will go back to the same place in two months or so.  I want to keep my hair on the shorter side for winter.  And, maybe if I’m brave enough, I’ll have the hairdresser do what she thinks would look best on my head.  But that could be a big maybe….

And, yes, I feel a little guilty for not going to my usual hairdresser.

(P.S.  The hairdresser asked if I was Chinese, which is usual.  I look Chinese.  She was shocked when I told her I’m Korean.  She also asked if it was my first time at the salon.  I said it was, and then I volunteered that it was my first time going to an Asian place.  I debated whether or not to tell her I was adopted.  I didn’t.. Don’t know why.  There wasn’t any particular reason.  I guess I just didn’t feel the need to.  And I think if I had, it would have been out of some urge to get pity or something….)

2 Responses to “My new haircut”

  1. Elle Chan said

    I am looking at going to an asian salon. What salon did you go to? And do you remember the name of the hairdresser? Thanks.

  2. I went to Le Gala. The hairdresser was Judy. They give a really good service. While you wait you can have a fruit juice, and they give a head massage after shampooing your hair. After they cut your hair, you go back to the sink and they rinse your hair again. This gets rids of all those bits of hair usually get stuck under you shirt and make you itch.

Leave a Reply

 
