Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

New allergies

Posted by thoughtful1 on December 1, 2008

I think I am allergic to dogs.

I went to a neighbors tonight to ask a question.  Her dog very excitedly jumped all over me and licked my chin.  I don’t like it when dogs do this.  I prefer mellow dogs.  But, at least the dog didn’t smell my privates 😛

Anyway, after a few minutes I noticed I was getting itchy bumps on my chin.  I took this as a sign that I am now mildly allergic to dogs.  I’d never had a problem with them before, but now I seem to.  I find this annoying.  I’m not a big dog fan, but any allergy is inconvenient.  I just hope it doesn’t get worse as I get older.

Even more problematic is that for the past few years I began to think I may have developed a mild allergy to cats.  When I am around my mother’s cats I notice that for the first day or two I have itchy eyes.  It goes away, and it’s a very mild symptom, but it’s a symptom nonetheless.  Given that my mom loves cats, this would be a real pain in the neck if I become seriously allergic to cats.  That, and I have a few friends who own cats.

*sigh*

At least the new pet allergies aren’t as problematic as my fruit allergy.  As an adult I became allergic to raw apples, pears, plums, peaches, and cherries, to name a few.  When I eat them I get itchy bumps on my lips and a burning sensation in my throat.  It turns out that if you’re allergic to pollen you’re prone to developing allergies to fruit from pollen bearing trees.  This means my fruit intake is restricted to watermelon, bananas, oranges, and berries.  And I suppose the occasional kiwi or pineapple.

However, I was happy to discover a few months ago that I can eat Asian pears from Whole Foods without any problem.  I had tried the Asian pears from Super 88 last year, and I had an allergic reaction.  So when I was over somebody’s place and he offered me an Asian pear, I was worried I’d have a reaction, but I didn’t.  He had bought them at Whole Foods.  I don’t know if it’s because they’re organic.  I’ve tried organic apples before and had an allergic reaction.  I don’t know what would make Whole Foods Asian pears nonallergenic, but they seem to be.  At least for me.

Leave a Reply

 
