Useless Thoughts Running Through My Head

various musings of a generation x kad

Spirited musings

Posted by thoughtful1 on December 27, 2008

Last night I went on a decluttering/unpacking binge.  It all started with a desire to finish unpacking my grandparents’ cocktail glasses.  They’ve been sitting in boxes in the dining room for two years.  I began unpacking them a month or so ago, and I decided to finish pulling out the cocktail glasses.  I found all of them, and a few interesting serving dishes.  I washed those up and put them away.

Then I went around the condo and collected all the recyclables.  In doing so, I practically cleared off a small bookcase that is in the foyer.  It’s where I intended to put mail and keys and such as I was coming and going.  However, instead of being useful, it became a place where clutter gathers.  I decided that I could use the small bookcase someplace else and replace it with small trash bin to hold junkmail.

After taking the trash and recycling out, I returned to the dining room and took the boxes downstairs to the basement.

Now that I had more room in the dining room, I began wondering what to do with it.  One thought that entered my head was moving the small bookcase from the foyer to the dining room and using it to hold my liquor bottles.  I don’t have that many, but I have enough that they can’t all fit in the cupboard.  Happy at finding a use for the bookcase and a holding place for my liquor, I faced another set of questions:

  • Where exactly should I put the the liquor?
  • Do I put the liquor in the dining room corner?
  • Do I now put the recycling bin in the DR corner and place the bookcase/liquor where the recycling bin was, which is near the refrigerator?
  • Does it make sense to keep the liquor closer to the kitchen, or will the recycling bin be too odd looking in the dining room?
  • Will I be annoyed at having to walk further to dump stuff into the recycling bin?
  • Will I be annoyed if the liquor is further away from the kitchen?
  • If I were a liquor cabinet, where would I be?
  • Am I being too much of a perfectionist?

The answer to the last question is, “Yes, you are being too much of a perfectionist.  Knock it off!  If you don’t like where you put the liquor, you can move it!”

But, I still haven’t set up the new arrangement.  Partly because it was late I needed to go to bed and today I was busy, but it’s also because I continued being a perfectionist and kept wondering, “If I were a liquor cabinet, where would I be?”  And asking myself where I’d be if I were a liquor cabinet is kind of fun…

In the meantime, unpacking the cocktail glasses made me realize that I don’t have that many.  I have 3 that could be used as martini glasses, and they’re very nice glasses, so I would like the option of giving a not-so-well-coordinated guest a drink in a cheaper glass.  I have four wine glasses, so I could use more wine glasses.  And I have seven small cocktail glasses,  so I could use some high balls, and a few old fashioneds wouldn’t hurt.  But I want them to be interesting without being tacky.  I googled “vintage cocktail glasses,” but found mostly kitschy stuff, not stylish 50’s/60’s stuff.  It was a little discouraging.  This, of course, led to another question, “If I were a cool cocktail glass, where would I be?”

So I then googled “vintage cocktail glasses boston” and came across Ladies United for the Preservation of Endangered Cocktails (LUPEC).  They had a few suggestions for where to look for cool cocktail glasses.  One place is a flea market, which I doubt will be open tomorrow.  The other is Buckaroo’s Mercantile in Central Square.  Unfortunately, Buckaroo’s looks like it is chock full of old stuff and kitsch.  I tend to dislike old stuff, especially of the kitschy kind.  Usually not my cup of tea, but maybe tomorrow I’ll check out the place.  If I don’t find anything there, I can head over to 10,000 Villages and see if they have anything interesting.  Wouldn’t that be great – Free Trade cocktail glasses!

Of course, there’s always the cool place whose name escapes me on Newbury Street, but they’d probably be expensive.  So I’ll go there last.

But now, in addition to thinking about where to put the liquor bottles, and where to find cool cocktail glasses, I’m intrigued by LUPEC:

The Boston chapter of LUPEC (Ladies United for the Preservation of Endangered Cocktails) is a classic cocktail society dedicated to breeding, raising, and releasing nearly extinct drinks into the wild (a.k.a. Boston-area bars and restaurants.) Founded in February 2007 by Misty Kalkofen of Green Street and nine fellow cocktail enthusiasts, LUPEC Boston is the city’s first and only female-oriented cocktail society. The ladies of LUPEC Boston meet once a month to sample delicious cocktail creations from a bygone era, and educate themselves about the important and nearly forgotten forebroads who sipped them.

This sounds like fun.  I could meet new people and learn more about cocktails.  Plus, I like the idea of having a monthly cocktail party to go to.  And these women are serious about cocktails – I get the impression they’re old school and see cocktails as part of our culture as opposed to a way to get smashed.  They’d appreciate a well-crafted drink.

I’ll have to check them out.

In the meantime, I should go to bed.  Maybe I’ll have a bit of brandy before I go…

Leave a Reply

 
